Howdy y'all! Am i in the right place for a T25?

Some words about this forum

Moderator: minetymenace

Graham
>10
>10
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0

Howdy y'all! Am i in the right place for a T25?

Post by Graham » Mon Sep 29, 2014 7:53 pm

Been reading the forum for a couple days getting familiarized with these bikes. Looking at buying a T25 for $600. The seller has had it in a shed for the last 20+ years, tires are gone, rims partially down in the mud (they don't look too rotten) motor is stuck but 'running when parked' and i have no reason not to believe him. Seat, trim and almost everything appears to be there.

I looked at it for about 10 minutes, its about 3 hours away from me but i can go and get it whenever i'm ready... putting a new engine in my truck right now so it will have to wait a month or so.

anyhow, this seems to be the best forum i've found for the BSA unit singles. I'm an engineer and fairly competent mechanic (spannerman), but this will be my first foray into the world of Whitworth, Lucas and the particular nature of british bikes (I've done some work on MG's and Triumph cars).

Seems like by what i've seen posted on for sale that $600 in current condition is a pretty fair price. I'm assuming at this point I'll need to do a full engine rebuild, new tires (tyres) probably cables and all rubber of course. Looks like parts are surprisingly easy to find for these, which is excellent. Maybe because they require so many spares, or maybe because brit bike folks are more apt to give away hard earned cash for parts than most other motorsports i'm involved in.. anyhow. just wanted to say howdy from texas and I guess solicit some encouragement that this isn't as terrible of a purchase as everyone else is making me think it is.

Ha ha

minetymenace
Gerry1
Gerry1
Flag: England

Re: Howdy y'all! Am i in the right place for a T25?

Post by minetymenace » Mon Sep 29, 2014 11:15 pm

<135 Graham.